8th Competition for Composers 2018

Winner: Eiko Tsukamoto

Finalists: Francesco Ciurlo (Italy / “Four Stripes”), Sebastian Hilli (Finland / “Rack and Pinion”) and Eiko Tsukamoto (Japan / “Zickenzone”)

On 24 November 2018 the winner of the Seventh Composition Competition of the STIFTUNG CHRISTOPH DELZ in collaboration with LUCERNE FESTIVAL, endowed with 25’000 Swiss francs, was chosen.

After hearing all three pre-selected finalist works at Nicolas Hodges’ recital matinee – together with works by Christoph Delz, Harrison Birtwistle and Wolfgang Rihm – the jury awarded “Zickenzone” by Eiko Tsukamoto the STIFUNG CHRISTOPH DELZ prize. The other two finalist pieces, which were also premiered in this concert, were awarded 10’000.-.

Eiko Tsukamoto, born 1986 in Kagoshima (Japan), studied philosophy and composition with Toshio Hosokawa in Tokyo, Johannes Schöllhorn (Cologne) and Hanspeter Kyburz (Berlin). She has received various awards and scholarships and has received commissions from WDR Cologne, Ensemble Musikfabrik, Tongyeong International Music Festival and New Japan Philharmonic. She lives in Berlin.

Jury: Lisa Streich, Marco Stroppa, Nicolas Hodges, Michel Roth, and Mark Sattler

Press release «Delz-Competition-2018» (PDF)

© 2023. Stiftung Christoph Delz

Start typing and press Enter to search

Shopping Cart